Start Writing Already

1

September 16, 2013 by Kathryn Kuttis

Sharpen your pencils.

Sharpen your pencils.

Back when I was working as a PR force in New York City, before I had a degree in landscape architecture and two beautiful girls, I always wanted to be a writer.  I still do.  My shelves have how-to books on becoming a writer and it is not unusual for me to feel a pang of jealousy when I read the Sunday Book Review in The New York Times.  My favorite read is a good first novel.  I think everyone has at least one inside them just waiting to get out.

Based on my BA in English and experience in PR, I’m a confident business and academic writer.  These feel safe.  They keep my voice at a distance from the reader. But blogging is scary territory.  I mean without a professional agenda, I could write something really embarrassing or reveal information that I don’t necessarily want other people to know about me.  That’s true but I’ve decided to embrace transparency so that I can be part of the conversation. (applause)

Besides, this is a professional blog.  I’m entering the blogosphere to communicate with my University of Oregon students.  In just two weeks, I’ll start to teach Advanced Public Relations Communications for the first time.  The class explores blogging as a public relations tool and I didn’t want to pass up the chance to learn more about it myself.

So here I am blogging.  It feels like a casual cousin to the other forms of writing that I know. That might be a good sign.

One thought on “Start Writing Already

  1. Wendy Ames says:

    Hooray! Good luck. And wow, you and I have a lot in common. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Kathryn Kuttis

Kathryn Kuttis

Kathryn Kuttis

After 10 years as a public relations executive working with industry titans and media legends in New York, I moved to Oregon to find my creative edge in environmental design. I use my strengths as a communicator to solve complex problems with words and images. As an instructor, I share my experience with corporate communications, financial media relations, investor relations and visual design to engage and energize my students as they build their knowledge of public relations. Teaching allows me to grow my professional knowledge and use it to help students connect with the industry.

View Full Profile →

Welcome

If you share an interest in public relations, media and visual design, this might be a good place for you to hang out. I started this blog to exchange ideas with my students at the University of Oregon. They keep me (and maybe you too) at the forefront of social media, visual communication and career development. Here you'll find our best ideas, links and learning as we write, create and blog our way through a course on Strategic PR Communication.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,782 other followers

