Icy Kernels

3

February 10, 2014 by Kathryn Kuttis

photoAfter an ice storm that brought the area to a screeching halt, it makes perfect sense to blog about what’s in the news. Or does it?

During the storm, I didn’t rely on social media as much as I usually do. My focus was closer to home and more at a survival level.

Suddenly, I wanted to talk with my neighbors and inventory my pantry rather than look at #rust photos and Italian #beaches on Instagram. It was a shift in digital habits, although, I did frequently check #icestorm2014 and #snowmageddon.

While we were out shoveling snow (you were shoveling too, right?) the rest of the world carried on with business as usual. Nothing seems to slow the news machine these days.

I know I bring a new set of eyes to the kernels this week. When you can’t walk outside because of falling tree debris, it’s not a good feeling. But it did slow me down long enough to build a new appreciation for a few things.

Here are my top five ice storm realizations:

1. Electricity is essential for comfort.

2. Tire chains really work.

3. You can never have too many eggs.

4. Chainsaws can be a welcome sound when a large tree blocks your door.

5. Lattes are better when you’ve had to go without them for a few days.

Hopefully, everyone is safe, back online and ready to roll into week six. If you can relate, use the comment section to explain what you learned to appreciate during ice storm.  I look forward to reading your blogs posts.

Here are this week’s kernels:

5 Creative Selfie Campaigns (PR Daily) Limiting your blog photography? This one practically begs for you to include a selfie.

CVS Tobacco Ban Just The Start. Next: Soda (BostonGlobe) As a pharmacy, what else will they need to pull off the shelves to achieve a healthy image? Is it too late or just in time?

Facebook Timeline Designer Releases An App For Measuring Your Whole Life (FastCompany) Taking your own data temperature. How can information help us reach our goals?

Valentino Apologizes for Using Philip Seymour Hoffman’s Funeral to Promote a Handbag (Time) Uh-oh. Media relations at its worst.

The Ultimate Social Media Guide to Getting a Job (PRDaily) As you work to develop your social media platforms don’t forget potential employers are watching.

NFL Faces Pressure From Congress to Change Redskins’ Name (WashingtonPost) When brands offend. How does Dan Snyder justify his defiance?

Is it time to retire the term ‘public relations?’(PRWeek) How do you define PR? What’s the history behind the term and is it still relevant?

Home-Brewed Coca-Cola in 2015 Could Transform the Beverage Industry (Reuters) Now that’s a big idea. How would it change the way we think? Who are they targeting?

AOL 401K Blow-Up: Worst Way to Deliver Bad News to Employees (Forbes) How could this have been handled better? Was AOL talking to investors or employees?

Making A Broken Family Whole Again (NYTimes) It’s rare that a wedding announcement makes me cry but this one did. What makes this story so compelling?

NBC Cuts Anti-Discrimination Remarks From Sochi Opening Ceremony Speech (Slate) With #NBCFail now a trending topic, what can the network do to save face amid increasing scrutiny of its coverage.

3 thoughts on “Icy Kernels

  1. I’ve learned that the aftershock is worse than the initial storm. I’m still without power and I’m freezing cold, I just want my electric blanket!

  2. I’ve learned that the aftershock is worse than the initial storm. I’m still without power and I just want my electric blanket!

  3. emilyscher says:

    During the snowstorm I learned that when peoples’ power goes out you gain a lot of unexpected visitors and need to have a lot of extra mac and cheese on hand.

Leave a Reply

Kathryn Kuttis

Kathryn Kuttis

Kathryn Kuttis

After 10 years as a public relations executive working with industry titans and media legends in New York, I moved to Oregon to find my creative edge in environmental design. I use my strengths as a communicator to solve complex problems with words and images. As an instructor, I share my experience with corporate communications, financial media relations, investor relations and visual design to engage and energize my students as they build their knowledge of public relations. Teaching allows me to grow my professional knowledge and use it to help students connect with the industry.

View Full Profile →

Welcome

If you share an interest in public relations, media and visual design, this might be a good place for you to hang out. I started this blog to exchange ideas with my students at the University of Oregon. They keep me (and maybe you too) at the forefront of social media, visual communication and career development. Here you'll find our best ideas, links and learning as we write, create and blog our way through a course on Strategic PR Communication.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,782 other followers

